My Cover Of Pearl Jam – Just Breathe

It’s been an exciting month of May, I’ve made some moves and have started a long-term project. It’s been busy and hectic. But I found some time to hit the guitar and record this cover of Pearl Jam’s — Just Breathe. 

It’s a song that has always moved me. If you watch Eddie Vedder sing it in the video on YouTube, you can almost feel the vibe and you can’t help but be moved by the song and the performance. 

The lyrics and the the fingerstyle guitar parts make this song a really beautiful and touching one. 

It’s been 6 years since I picked up the guitar and to tell you the truth I don’t practice as much as I should, so my fingerstyle isn’t the best. Of course I would love to be a brilliant guitarist and play songs fingerstyle like by Bert Jansch, Mark Knopfler etc. But I’m where I’m at because I picked up the guitar late at 26. There are no shortcuts, you just have to put in the time and the effort.

With everything happening in my life, I don’t get enough time, but playing the guitar and piano is my safe space and release from the work and everything going on.

I want to do a lot of things when it comes to my career and make it in business, and of course music. 

It’s a long journey into the unknown, but I’m sure I’ll find my niche and my space. 

This song is my favourite song by Pearl Jam and Eddie Vedder is one of my favourite musicians. He has a new album out, which he released after a very long time, perhaps 12-15 years or so.

But anyway this is where I’m at with my guitar playing, but my singing has improved as well. 

This song makes me think about all the past lovers left behind in time(there have been quite a few), and the one to come in the future. It’s a song I sang for her as the inspiration, wherever she is, and hoping to connect, talk and sing for her some day.

There’s this line in the song in which Vedder sings “I’m a lucky man, to count on both hands the ones I love.”

So looking back, although things ended badly with a lot of past lovers, I wish nothing but good things for them, despite everything.

But yes, I’m looking forward and looking ahead and beyond, and hoping to find real love and meaning, and belonging and happiness and peace. 

So I’m just waiting patiently and doing my thing and playing my music. 

It was a decent take and one of my better covers.

Here’s my cover of the song…..

“Did I say that I need you/ Did I say that I want you/ Oh if I didn’t I’m a fool you see, no-one knows this more than me/ As I come clean, oh…..”

Leave a comment