Sets For Sundays – Episode #012 – The Long Road

Hey ! The cure for the week’s blues is here – the music for the weekend has arrived. I really enjoy this weekly, weekend show on this blog. I hope you guys enjoy it as much as I do. The show is 12 weeks old ! Awesome.

This week I’m not going to write a lot and bore you folks. So it’s just about the music. As always this weekend is power packed with lots of goodies.

These tunes are full of dusty goodness. As usual there are 4 sets that will sort you out for the weekend. Although it says “Sets For Sundays” it’s more like “Music for the weekend”. But let’s run with “Sets For Sundays” because it’s way cooler ๐Ÿ™‚

This weekend’s episode has got beats, folk & blues, a legend and his piano and another legend and his guitar. This list of sets have a good ebb and flow which will take you on a ride. ย And to keep things interesting are a few tracks I made this week when I was bored. Yeah I got back to making some music, mainly because I hadn’t made anything for a while.

So yeah here we go!

To kick things off this weekend are upbeat and calm Trip Hop beats. NYC’s very own Tony Simon or better known as Blockhead. Blockhead is an artist I got into back in college and his tunes were played by me in our college bar. His newer albums aren’t that good except for The Music Scene, but his previous work is just supreme. This is his first ever album, which is easily his best. He’s signed to Ninja Tune which is a label I have massive respect for. They’ve got some sick artists under them. Released in 2005 this is the album that announced Blockhead’s arrival onto the scene, ladies and gents… Blockhead with Music By Cavelight.

Next up is the master, the legend, THE musician I respect the most – Mr. Thom Yorke. I think I’ve run out of superlatives to describe the Radiohead frontman. This set is from The Basement series and is him performing solo. If you haven’t checked out Radiohead From The Basement then do youtube that one, I’m not posting those here because I’ve watched them way way too many times. So here is him alone with his piano. This set is melancholic, haunting and beautiful at the same time. It’s so beautiful that it will make you cry. I wish I could cry, I’ve never been able to cry for years. It’s been about 10 years since I did and sometimes I think I’m made of stone or whatever. But anyway, this one is a very moving set and you’ll love it. The tracks are perfection and Thom just nails them. “What is up buttercup? Down is the new up” Pay attention kids, this is what a genius sounds like.

Then to get you back on your feet and dreaming is this old gem I stumbled upon this week. I had never heard of Davy Graham until I heard this album yesterday. I made a playlist of this album which was on repeat for a while. It’s really something and is a must to hear. He dabbles into Blues & Folk. I read a bit about him as well and apparently he was an inspiration to Bert Jansch. Bert Jansch is bloody brilliant and is another musician that I really admire and if this guy inspired him then you know he’s good. Stumbled upon this – Davy Graham people.

And to end this weekend’s set list is the forever astounding Pearl Jam front man – Eddie Vedder with a live acoustic concert called Water On The Road. Vedder’s voice is perhaps one of the best in the world and has touched lives in a way only he knows how to. His score for the film Into The Wild (which is a brilliant movie) is perhaps one of my favourites so I urge you guys to check out that movie and soundtrack as well. This set which I’m posting here contains a lot of the songs from that soundtrack album. Here it is. Water On The Road from 2011.

And as promised here are my three tracks I produced over the last 10 days. They’re pretty alright. One is an old hindi movie song that I remixed from the 1950’s. I heard it in a Mumbai cab at 3 am. Mumbai’s cab drivers man, always play good music. Hope you guys enjoy it ๐Ÿ™‚ Do ignore that photograph of me, it’s really old ๐Ÿ˜›

And to keep with the fusion theme here is an Indian classical music legend the late Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Eddie Vedder with a song that’s just amazing. This was made for a Hollywood movie called Dead Man Walking. It’s mind blowing.

Here it is. The Long Road.

We all walk ย The Long Road, keep walking on… ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you guys enjoyed this weekend’s episode.

Cheers!

Have a set weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

