The Burning Desire To Win – How To Be Successful

Napolean Hill
Lately, I am spending my time these days analyzing success stories of some of history’s greatest people and breaking down how they did it. I am spending a large portion of my time reading books, searching for prominent people of old on the internet and reading their stories.

A wise man who wrote a book I read a some time ago once said the easiest way to become successful is to find people who did it before and copy the exact same thing they did. How to do this you may ask? Well the best way is to read books. And when I mean read, I mean read a lot. Meaningful books that can change your life. He called it ” Leaning on the shoulder of giants”. By doing this you can have some of history’s greatest people as your personal coaches, coaching you in your living room, through their books.Trust me, it works. Just go for it. Start by picking up a book today.

A man who re-asserted this to me was a man named Tai Lopez who’s TED Talk I saw a year ago and it got me started on my journey.

In his TED Talk – he laid out a plan for those seeking the good life. “Everybody wants the good life but only few are willing to toughen up to pursue it”. He calls it the rule of 33%.  He basically pointed out two things : 1. Find a mentor – Finding a mentor is a shortcut to success. 2. Read Books – A book a day.

This is his rule. And I have blindly followed it. I have found myself a mentor, who runs a genetics company and ran 8 businesses in his twenties. He is somebody who has clarity of thought and knows business inside out through his years of experience. He has told me he will mentor me for the rest of my life, something which I consider myself very lucky to have.  That was the first part.

Now I have begun on the second part of reading books and amassing knowledge. I am reading about two of the greatest, wealthiest men to have ever lived – Mr. John D. Rockefeller and Mr. Andrew Carnegie. Their life story and their teachings and principles. Through books of their disciples. They are by far the most successful people to have ever lived with staggering net worth’s – John D. Rockefeller at $340 billion, followed by Andrew Carnegie at $310 billion!

I have made success my burning desire. I will take as long as it takes me but I will succeed. It is my obsession now. And I urge you to make it yours as well. Why? Because it’s life’s greatest challenge. And I am always up for a good challenge and I’m sure you are too. It’s hard starting a business from scratch and even harder to make it successful, but that’s the point right? It’s got to be hard – That’s the fun of it!

As I write this blog post I am nowhere in life in terms of my goal and aim. I have just started out a year and a half ago. I cannot tell you the exact goal and aim, but that being said I want to help people on my way there. I hope we all make it. I hope we can all learn and become successful prominent people who are able to make a difference to our country and the world. I know I am writing this as an unsuccessful entrepreneur who has failed multiple times but there’s always time for a turnaround. If you don’t know where you’re going in your life and just living one day to the next, welcome to the club – most people don’t so it’s alright – but it’s our duty to change that.  So I urge you to follow the instructions in this post.

But first before I lay down some steps, I want to tell you a couple of stories.

This story is something similar to the movie 300 which I’m sure a lot of you have seen.

A long time ago a great warrior general faced a perplexing situation. He had no choice but to win a war because the life of his family was at stake. He was about to send his army, which he commanded, against a formidable enemy who outnumbered his troops by 3:1.
So he spent the night before embarking on his journey thinking. (This is the first step – The thinking part ) He suddenly got a brilliant idea. So the next day he set out with his troops on their boats towards the enemy’s country. As soon as they reached the enemy’s shore he gave out his orders. First, he ordered the soldiers to unload their arms, supplies, and other equipment. And then he ordered his soldiers to burn down their boats. Many of the soldiers looked confused but they followed his orders anyway. He then said, ” You see those boats going up in smoke? That means we cannot leave these shores alive unless we win!. We have no choice – we win or we die here.”

Guess what – They won.

Every person who wins at anything must be willing to burn his ships down and cut all sources of retreat. Only by doing so can he be sure of maintaining the state of mind known as THE BURNING DESIRE TO WIN, which is essential to success.

You see by leaving yourself no choice but to succeed – You increase your chances of success. Whatever it may be, leave yourself no choice. You will succeed.

So now when I said – I will be successful even if I die trying – you know what I mean.

But you must research in order to be successful. Do your digging, do your reading, stay motivated and ACT on it. I personally lack on the ACT part hence I have not become a run away success already but I am at it – At my own pace.

I will get to the steps, but before that another story.

There was a great fire in Chicago a long time ago. The morning after the fire, a group of merchants held a meeting after they saw the remains of what were their stores. They went into the conference to decide whether to rebuild or leave Chicago and start over in a more promising section of the country. They all agreed almost unanimously – to leave Chicago. All the merchants except one agreed on this. His name was Marshal Field – he chose to stay and rebuild his shop. He said ” Gentlemen, on that very spot I will build the world’s greatest store, no matter how many times it may burn down” The rest as they say is history. He is one of the richest people to have ever lived with a net worth of – $66 Billion. What Mr. Field could have done was follow the crowd, he could have left Chicago like his fellow merchants but he didn’t – He didn’t follow the crowd, he stood alone, and he succeeded.

So another lesson apart from the BURNING DESIRE TO SUCCEED is that you CANNOT and MUST NOT FOLLOW THE CROWD. You must stand alone and do something different from everybody else. You may lose friends, lack a social life and might not find love, unless of course you are lucky enough to find a partner who understands this and is willing to stick with you. But these are necessary sacrifices.

These two stories were from a long time ago. But what about today? Well in today’s day and age we have none other than the football team Leicester City who defied all odds and won the English Premier League last season. They were bottom of the table exactly a year before and then went on to win the toughest football league in the world with next to no investment and beating some of the giants of the game! I have written a post on that here. You can and must check that out.

Leicester City had the BURNING DESIRE TO WIN and succeed in every game they played. The way the played and the energy they showed each game was phenomenal! They NEVER GAVE UP and they did it – They became champions ! Or even as recent as last week – Iceland a nation of a few thousands of people beat the mighty England and are in the quarter finals of Euro 2016!

So another lesson is – You must persevere and never ever give up. Another post I had written a while ago. People may ridicule you and laugh at you they WILL bring you down. But you have to just filter out that negativity and bullshit and KEEP GOING.

So now here are the steps.

1. Fix your mind on the exact the money and other goals you desire.
2. Determine what exactly you intend to give in return for the money and other goals you desire.
3. Establish a definite date by which you intend to meet those goals and possess the money you desire.
4. Create a plan for carrying out your desire, HOW are you going to do it? and BEGIN NOW, whether you are ready or not, put this plan into action.
5. Write a clear concise statement for all the steps above.
6. Read it twice before you sleep and after you wake up.

This way you cover all the areas – You have a target, You have a plan, You have action and You have tricked your subconscious.

If you want to succeed at anything – Become obsessed about it.

This way you will succeed.

Here is Tai Lopez’s TED Talk to get you started –

I hope this has helped you.

Have a great week.

Cheers! 😀

Leave a Reply

