Top 10 Classic Rock Albums From The 60’s That You Have To Listen To Now

The music is magical. The music thrills. The music unites.

What more can I say, the mystical journey of music through the ages has resulted in mankind’s most effervescent creations apart from technological advances and breakthroughs in science, which happen every 15-20 years or so – music is something that inspires and lasts forever.

I am a music addict and have been since I was about 8. All  my free time is practically spent discovering old music and finding new music, it’s what I did when I was younger and it’s what I do now despite the work. I guess I’m an old school purist, like a 60’s 70’s kid killing time with listening to music records apart from a bit of reading here and there.

Over the last few years though EDM or electronic dance music has taken over the world and I absolutely hate it. I mean come on, apart from the melodies it’s just monotonous bass lines and repetitive beats. I actually don’t mind deep house, techno and minimal music I listen to a bit but EDM is just something I cannot stand.

Not to press on the negatives but EDM is just music gone horribly wrong.
Anyway classic Rock is something that I love (seriously there is nothing that comes close to it) and as a teenager I was exposed to a vast array of bands from the 60s and 70s despite my hip hop influences.

Rock has gone through a lot of transformations with alternative, mainstream, metal, punk etc but good old classic psychedelic rock and roll is the best man.

So let me just say that I’m not the biggest fan of the beatles(so they aren’t on this list) because well honestly they are super tight and all but they’re music is just too happy and similar for me. Haha.

Also no Dylan and Neil Young here(but he does feature as CSNY)  because I wanted to stick to classic rock bands and not solo artists. Also I had to leave out a lot of killer albums from the likes of The Yard Birds, The Byrds, CCR, Allman Brothers, Jimi Hendrix and they are notable absentees but anyway

Remember this is strictly only 60’s music.

Here I have compiled a list of 10 albums that are my top 10 of all time.

So without delay, here they are –

10. Love – Forever Changes(1967)

Discovered this one recently, but it’s still one that I like quite a lot. Crisp classic rock with great drumming and bass that drives through the whole album. I’ve been listening to this one pretty often off late so I had to include it on this list. How did I not here this until recently!? Seriously it’s so fucking good. Every track is great but the first track “Alone again or” puts you in the mood for the rest of the album -killer one. Have a listen to this one it’ll certainly rock you.

 

 

9. The Kinks – The Village Green Preservation Society

I just love the Kinks, their hit singles “Lola” and “Sunny Afternoon” are my favourites but this album does it for me. Strange name though but top class brit rock and roll. Typical kinks tracks like the title track “The Village Green Preservation Society” (hell it’s more notoriety than anything haha), “Do You Remember Walter?” and “Big Sky” but honestly every track is amazing. If you don’t like The Kinks… wait, what Are You Retarded? you can’t they’re The Kinks man. Hit play you ignorant humans! Couldn’t find the album in one video so here is a playlist

 

8. The Zombies – Odyssey and Oracle(1968)

This one is known for The Zombies hit single “Time of The Season” but in all the complete album is a classic. All the tracks are great and make awesome hearing on the right kind of speakers, (damn I need a nice one soon). “Hung Up on A Dream”, ” This Will Be Our Year ” are awesome tracks that you need to check out, it starts off okay-ish but seriously listen to the whole album. The Zombies with their exquisite guitar riffs and piano melodies put together with nice harmonies and great drumming make an album that isn’t the best but is certainly up there in my top 10.

 

7. Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young(CSNY) – Deja Vu

This classic from none other than the formidable foursome of Crosby, Stills Nash and Young is one hell of a record. The tunes on this one are damn fucking tight. The skills of the mighty David Crosby and Neil Young together with harmonies that thrill and evoke in you feelings of joy – This one is a masterpiece. Not to forget Nash and Stills providing the completeness of this deadly four piece band – who were all in their own right geniuses. The guitar riff’s and melodies are delightful and every song on the album is special. “Our House” and “Carry On” are two tracks that I like a lot but seriously every track is special.

6. Cream – Disraeli Gears(1967)

Eric Clapton(guitar and vocals) and Jack Bruce(guitar) absolutely kill this record, with Ginger Baker on drums and vocals this one is an album for the ages. The tracks like “Strange Brew” and “Sunshine Of Your Love” are sheer works of art. I fucking love this record. Classic rock and roll with Clapton’s blues influence make a magnificent album and one that is one of the best classic rock album’s of all time. Just hit play on this one and fucking rock! Straaaange Brewwwww! \m/

 
5.  The Who – Tommy (1969)

Man this one by The Who is a fucking beautiful album. It was a tough fight between Cream and The Who for this number five spot but I’ve heard Disraeli Gears way to many times so Tommy definitely edged it there (he’s a cheeky bugger this Tommy, haha). Anyway there are way too many tracks on this album all of about two and half minutes each but they’re great – Yeah, Every track is fucking top class. Damn this one really is a one for the ages.
Classic The Who with Pete Townsend sending the fuck out of it

4. John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton 
This one is a favourite of mine Eric Clapton back with John Mayall and the bluesbreakers
making a bluesy rock and roll fucking classic. The first one, “All Your Love” is perhaps my favourite track on the album but again – It’s fucking Clapton man, so every song is fucking A. If you’re more of a blues person and I certainly am an old blues man but this one will appeal to you more if you followed the likes of Robert Johnson and Blind Lemon Jefferson.
Fucking enjoy this one. “All your love pretty babay!” Kick ass fucking album man. Love it!

Here we go drum roll please…. 3,2,1

3. Led Zeppelin – I (1969)

Its Led Zep at number three Robert Plant, Jimmy Page nuff said. This one is the Zeppelin’s classic album numero uno of the lot that stands the test of time. I love all their work but the first is the best well actually i love their other work more, ok I’m confused but c’mon Kashmir, Immigrant Song, etc others are better…. good juice. I’m not sure whether this one got inducted in the rock and roll hall of fame but if it’s not well it should. EVERY and I mean EVERY track is a magnificent with Plant and Page nailing the vocals and riffs, those solos by Page are mind melting! Favourite Track – tough call between “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You”and”Dazed And Confused” but anway what an album man!
It’s the Zeppelin man prepare to get your mind = blown!

2. Pink Floyd –  The Piper At The Gates of Dawn(1967)

At number two it’s the Floyd ladies and gentlemen. The band that has captured the imagination of the world – well Darkside of the moon and meddle are my favourites but since they left their better works for post 60’s I had to put out this one here because of one man – Syd fucking Barret. It’s a shame what happened to him – he developed schizophrenia and died but hell, all the greats have died young. You can hear shades of their later sounds in this one courtesy the usual suspects Roger Waters, Nick Mason and Richard Wright but Barret just fucking kills this one.This was his album the original floyd before David Gilmour. The floyd’s break through album is one of my favourites man. Favourite track – “Interstellar Overdrive” by a fucking mile – That intro man! Only Syd Barret could come up with that, only him but “Astronomy Dominoe” and “See Emily Play” are great too. Shine on you crazy diamond, Syd, wherver you are up there I’m sure Jim Morrison, you, David Bowie and Jimi Hendrix are having one great gig in the sky!

1. The Doors – The Doors

 

Okay this one might be slightly biased because I practically worship The Doors man – How the fuck can you not???. Fucking John Densmore(drums), Ray Manzarek (Keyboard), The man, the legend my favourite guitarist of all time Robby Krieger(guitar) and ofcourse the greatest front man of all time Jim(Mojo Risin)Morrison. I mean how can you not be captivated by the doors. Densmore’s thumping drums, Manzarek’s genius on the keys, Krieger with this spanish flamenco licks and Morrison’s deathly dreamy voice with his mind boggling poetry and they arent lyrics they are fucking poetry. I fucking love all their albums but this one man, this one is special. “Break on Through” man

Favourite track – ALL, ha.

“Let me sleep all night in your soul kitchen”, “Break on through to the otherside” “Try to set the night on fire” Fuck Morrison kills this album and so do the rest of the crew. Best album of all time, easily for me. Fuck the beatles man, honestly.

But The End does it best for me. I ended every single night at Deetee (a pub in Manipal, India where I used to Dj) with The End. Wake up in the morning and listen to The End first thing.

This is one beast of an album. One for the ages. Let Jim and the band do the talking

It’s about the one thing that is inevitable  – Death.

” This is the end, beautiful friend,

Of all elaborate plans, The End
Of everything that stands, The End
No safety or surprise, The End.
I’ll never look in to your eyes again.

Can you picture what will be so limitless and free,
Desperately in need
Of some strangers hand
In a desperate Land”

The End,

The Doors

RIP Jim Morrison, Syd Barret and Richard Wright we all miss you.

 

Fin.

Have a great week !

Cheers!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Classic Rock Albums From The 60’s That You Have To Listen To Now

Leave a Reply

